Ratings Explained

Why do we have ratings?

Sharing with our neighbours is a lovely thing, but sometimes it is helpful to know if another user has successfully shared in the past and was courteous and timely.

How can I rate another user
  • Go to your messages inbox
  • Tap on the profile picture of anyone you have recently messaged with
  • Assign a star rating (5 is high, 1 is low)

Hint: Your rating should take into account the other user’s quality of communication, timeliness for pickup and whether the item was as advertised.

How does my star rating affect my ability to use OLIO?

If your star rating gets too low, we may be in touch via email with some suggestions as to how you can improve it. If you continue to have a low star rating/receive low ratings then your OLIO account may be temporarily suspended or permanently deleted. We will notify you by email before suspending or deleting your account. If your account is suspended you will still be able to message with users that you are already in touch with about a share, however you will not be able to add or request any new listings.

How can I improve my rating?

We recommend you request a rating from users who you have shared with in the past:

  • Go to the message thread with that user
  • Tap the pink ‘+’ button 
  • Use the “Please rate me” quick reply

Keep adding and requesting listings via the app and ensure that your shares are great!

How is my rating calculated?

Your ratings is the average of all your ratings. Each user that you share with can only rate you once but they can change the rating at any time.

Can I rate any user?

No, you can only rate users where the person adding the listing has tapped the pick up confirmed button within the messaging thread.

Ratings don’t work/I can’t rate another user

If you can’t rate another user, then it will be because the app doesn’t know that you have shared a listing with each other. In order to tell the app that two users have shared a listing, the person who added the listing needs to mark that the other user is picking the listing up – this is done by tapping the pink button within the messaging thread between you both.

I have rated a user, but it’s not showing up. Why is that?

We only show a rating after a user has been rated 3 times